Why I write

Who am I?

Why am I writing this blog?

Legitimate questions.

I am Adam Oliver Kerr, aka Canada Slim.

In my travels across Switzerland, and eventually the world (I hope), I explore the places I encounter with a curious and open mind, wanting to know “What makes a place special and unique?”

Sometimes it is a place’s past, its history and culture.

Sometimes it is its present glories, its unique way of presenting itself to the world, its architecture, its innovations, its literature, its music. But as well, its problems, like poverty, unemployment, politics, social issues, etc.

Sometimes it is its potential future, its creators, its artists, its musicians, its dreamers.

I want to share my discoveries with the world rather than just keeping a personal journal, because it is my feeling, my conviction, that what impresses me, moves me, inspires me, about a place and its people, might also impress / move / inspire others to look around and see the world as it is and dream of a world as it can be.

What to write about?

People, of course.

What a piece of work is a man, how noble in reason,
How infinite in faculties, in form and moving,
How express and admirable in action,
How like an angel in apprehension,
How like a god!
(William Shakespeare)

A blog written by a person addressed to other people should, of course, sensibly speak about what interests people and that is: people – others and occasionally themselves.

The Chronicles of Canada Slim will be my opinions, observations and thoughts about world events, politics, philosophy, history and culture, through the prism of perspective of a Canadian ex-pat / teacher / barrista living and working in Switzerland.

I would love to reach people who enjoy travelling, especially slow.

I would love to reach people who enjoy reading and thinking about what they read.

I would love to reach people who are open-minded, who care about the world they live in and who long for a better place for those who inherit the planet after we have left this mortal coil.

I would love my writing to entertain, inform, inspire and enlighten.

There are more things in Heaven and Earth, Horatio,
Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.
(William Shakespeare)

I began this blog on 19 May 2015 and this blog will already mark my 66th post.

(My 43rd post, Schattenwald: Forest of Shadows (Prologue), toyed with the notion of using this blog as a serial set of submissions of a novel I am “working” on, but I have decided to create another blog in future after the novel is completed.)

By May 2016 I hope to have written a total of 365 posts, have increased my readership to a three-digit level, have explored much more of Switzerland (and the world) and have created a blog that people look forward to reading.

Modest goals?

To anyone who enjoys this blog, has comments, critical or complimentary, ideas and perspectives they would like to share with me, please feel free to contact me at:

canadaslim@hotmail.com

I hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

